Udupi: Jayaprakash Hegde wins by 45,724 votes

By Snehalatha, Udupi / Anil Alva
Udupi Today Media Network


Udupi, 21 March 2012: Congress candidate Jayaprakash Hegde has won the Loksabha by election for Udupi Chikmagalur seat by 45,724 votes against BJP candidate Sunil Kumar.  Jayaprakash Hegde who maintained lead against BJP’s Sunil Kumar throughout the rounds of counting which began this morning, finally won by a massive margin after 16 rounds of counting.


The Congress candidate, who had lost the Lok Sabha election in 2009 from the same constituency against D.V. Sadananda Gowda by 27,000 votes, maintained lead over the BJP rival in the six assembly segments namely Udupi (11,423), Kundapura (9,111), Kaup (5,279), Sringeri (5,750), Mudigere (8,813), Tarikere 8,781.    In Karkala (1,312) and Chikmagalur (2,112) segments BJP took lead.


Jayaprakash Hegde (Congress)


The final results are as follows: Jayaprakash Hegde (Congress): 3,98,723. Sunil Kumar (BJP): 3,52,999. Bhoje Gowda (JDS): 72,080. Bharath K. (JDU): 4,945. Hari Shanuboha Katil (Independent): 6.930. Hunasoor Chandrashekara ((Independent): 3,640. Shrinivasa Poojary (Independent): 3,293. H. Suresh Poojary (Independent): 2,177. K. Jayaprakash Hegde Kokkarne (Independent): 1,755. Asadulla Katpadi (Independent): 1,491. Deepak Rajesh Coelho (Independent): 1,429. Shridhara Pedemane (Independent): 1,377. Venkatesh N. (Independent): 1,064. Riaz Ahmed (Independent): 921. JDS candidate along with the remaining 11 candidates have lost their deposits.



Speaking to reporters Jayaprakash Hegde said that he owes the victory to state Congress leaders and workers. Celebrating the victory the Congress workers went on vehicle procession around Udupi city. The Congress Office had a celebration look and the party leaders including Oscar Fernandes, Pramod Madhwaraj were celebrating with joy. Party workers burst crackers and distributed sweets to people.


As soon as the news of the victory of the Congress Candidate for the Udupi-Chkmagalur Lok Sabha bye-election  by a margin of  45, 724 over his nearest rival, BJP’s Sunil Kumar in a keenly contested election, the Congress workers of Moodubelle celebrated the victory of their candidate with great enthusiasm by bursting fire-crackers on the Main Road of Moodubelle.


The celebration was  led by Henry Alva, president of Belle-Kattingeri Congress Local Committee, secretary, Ganesh Nayak, Mrs. Ida Gibba D’Souza, member of Udupi Zilla Panchayat, Mrs. Jacinta Aranha, president of Belle Grama Panchayat  and members Shivram Salian, Vikash Shetty and Gilbert D’Souza. Besides, Mrs. Benedict Cstelino, vice president of Moodubelle Mahila Congres and treasurer, Mrs. Benedicta Alva were also present along with many Congress workers. Members of Moodubelle Rickshaw Chalakara and Malakara Association were also present.



The counting had begun Wednesday morning for the Udupi Chikmagalur Lok Sabha seat. The election was conducted earlier on 18th March 2012. With BJP government in Karnataka facing turmoil, there is intense anticipation and anxiety in ruling and Opposition Congress circles over the outcome of the bypolls.


Elaborate security arrangements have been made at the counting center. The Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) from across 1,633 polling stations had reached the venue after the polling and had been kept in the strong rooms. Counting began at 8 am and as many as eight halls were used for the purpose of counting.


About 66 per cent of 12.53 lakh electorate had cast their votes earlier on 18th March. The bypolls has become a prestigious battle for BJP, particularly Chief Minister D V Sadananda Gowda, who had vacated the seat upon his elevation as chief minister.




Jeevan Alva, Sastan / Dubai

 Congress victory from people of Udupi point of view is good because Congress is in power in Delhi. Mr.Hedge can make some improvement in Udupi unlike Mr.Oscar. Anyway bad luck to BJP workers/supporters who know the reason very well behind their defeat. First throw out Yeddy and company from party, then people will vote for BJP. Hearty Congratrulations Mr.JP.

Santhosh Kumar, Bangalore

 Congratulations! to Jayaprakash Hegde. Now it is the great opportunity to all Karnataka people to take advantage and to get the development works done from the central Government. All depends on how the people of our constituency use our winning candidates to peruse development in the region.

Godwin Prakash , Moodbidri/Dubai

 Heartly Congratulations to Mr J.P Hegde. Let almighty God give you strength, courage to serve the people of Udupi-Chickamagalur

Stan, Dubai

 Congratulations to Mr J P HEGDE. The result shows if congress leaders are united then its not difficult to defeat BJP. People of Karnataka are fed up with infighting of BJP. This result should act as a eyeopener to BJP.

Prasad Shetty, Udupi

 This victory of Congress is not because of its capability, but it is because of the weakness of BJP, anyway congratulations to Jayaprakash Hegde.

Stephen Castelino, Dubai

 This result shows how the people are disgusted with state BJP politicians. In total people have rejected out rightly the BJP in the state and their corrupt nature and non-concern for the people. Many BJP supporters have this time voted for JPH to demolish head weight of Sunil Kumar.

All fields are mandatory.
Enter valid answer - Security Validation
  Write Comment

  Please provide your full name, email :
  Your Full Name:*
  E-mail Address:*
   Enter your feedback in this box: *
You have characters left.
  Security Validation:* 3 + 7  =