Doha: MCC Ladies win throwball championship

By Victor DíSouza
Pics by Robert Tellis

Udupi Today Media Network


Doha, 11 November 2012: In a thrilling finish of the ladies throwball tournament final MCC ladies emerged champions and walked away with the championship trophy. The ever popular 11th Annual MCC Ladies Open Throwball Tournament was held by Mangalore Cricket club (MCC) on 8th and 9th November 2012 at the old Ideal Indian School Grounds received fantastic cheering spectator support. The seven participating teams were MCC, Tulu Koota, Karavali, MCC Colts, Konkan Stars, Karnataka Sangha, and Al Maha Club.


The nail-biting finals between MCC and Konkan Stars would go down in the 11-year history of the tournament as one of the best and keenly fought matches ever. The very fact that the finals that began around 8.30 pm local time went on up to 10.00 pm proves that it was by far the toughest match between two equally good teams that matched each other in every department.


In the final match MCC defeated Konkan Stars by 21/25, 25/11, 15/13 in a well fought with 3 set match and emerged as winners. Konkan Stars were leading in the first set by 25 /21, but MCC fought well and came back into the game ultimately winning the second set and third set.



Earlier this evening first semifinal was played between Tulu Koota v/s Konkan Stars and second semifinal MCC V/s KSQ. Konkan Stars and MCC successfully qualified for the finals.


The annual tourney, one of the most popular events among the Mangalorean community in Qatar was inaugurated on Thursday November 8 evening. MCC President Sunil D’silva welcomed the gathering, MCC sports secretary John Britto introduced the seven participating teams. The captains and the players then participated in the oath-taking ceremony followed by the inaugural match between Karavali and Al Maha Club.


The inauguration of the final tournament was conducted on Friday November 9 evening.  The programme was conducted by Emilia Castelino. The chief guests of the programme were Alfred Sequiera and his wife, the main sponsors of the tournament. Co-sponsors and guests of honour were Wilfred Fernandes, the finance controller of Ghanim Holdings, Francis Quadros, proprietor of Al Amer Garage, Allan Currie of Qatar Kentz and Hussain of Mannai Air Travel.


Sana Britto conducted the grand march past for all the teams, followed by the welcome from the Sports Secretary John Britto.  President Sunil D’silva addressed the gathering and thanked all the teams for participation in the tournament. Chief guest Alfred Sequiera in his speech expressed his admiration to women power and congratulated MCC for organizing such a high caliber sports event wherein active women in turn make the whole society active.


Sports joint secretary Winnie Saldahna proposed the vote of thanks. The participating team captains and managers released doves and balloons as a symbol of team spirit and peace. Teams were then introduced to the guests. The guests then tossed the ball to the captains of the finalist teams declaring the final match open.


At the end of an exciting nail biting match won by MCC, the prize distribution ceremony was conducted.  Lynel Jason  Lobo who flew in from Mangalore was honoured for his services as the official referee of the tournament by the founder member Jerald D'Mello.  Angela Dias of MCC team was adjudged the “Best Player of the Tournament” and Suma of KSQ was declared the “Best Smasher”.


The awards were given away by Hussain from Mannai Travel who sponsored return airtickets to Doha-Dubai  for the winners . Then the participating teams were awarded with certificates by Francis Quadros and Wilfred fernandes. The first runners-up Konkan Stars were honoured by Allan Currie from Qatar Kentz and the winners MCC were presented with certificates, gifts and medals by Francis Quadros.


Matches were made more interesting with a team of commentators Florent D’Souza and Abdul Salam with their running commentary. Registration and scoreboard was handled by Jessy Mendonca. The rotation officer were Wilfred Crasto, Rupert Lobo and Vincent Castelino.


MCC team  was led by captain Judith D’Souza, comprising Aarathi Fernandes, Angela Dias, Bharathi, Evette Quadros, Indira Ravi Kunder Jo-Ann Rodrigues, Mabel Almeida, Maria D’souza, Merlyn Quadros, Sunitha Tellis, Thelma D’Souza. Team manager - Cyril D’Souza.


Konkan Stars was team led by captain Dorothy Quadros, comprising Anthea Fernandes, Dolly Lobo, Floreda Silva, Geetha Kumari, Gracy Danthy, Gracy Shanthi Andrade, Leena Lobo, Marlyn D’souza, Susan Rodrigues, Wilma D’souza, Zeena Martis. Team manager – Benjamin Reberio.


Earlier on 8th Nov before the league a short opening ceremony was conducted.  President Sunil D’Silva welcomed the gathering and then the Sports Secretary John Britto conducted an oath taking ceremony from the Captains of the teams and tournament referee and other officials.  The teams had put in great efforts which made all league matches turned to be very exciting and ended with neck to neck fights to reach the semifinals.


The organizers thanked the team of volunteers headed by Melvin Pinto in a special way for all the hard work put in for the success of the tournament. MCC also thanked the chief guest and other esteemed guests, the sponsors, the participating teams and their officials and all those who have helped in making this mega sporting event a grand success.


Gulf International Enterprises was the main sponsor while Qatar Kentz, Ghaneem Holdings, Al Ameeer Garage and Transport, Mannai Air Travel, Pallonji Qatar ,Gulf Agency, were the co-sponsors of the tournament. Integral, Canara Jewellery, Al bin Ali, Lipton Tea, Nadec Almarai and Dandy were the support sponsors.


Whole stage programme coordinated and guided by MCC cultural secretary Riana Pinto.



Shyamala K., Qatar

 Wonderful event, congratulations to MCC for organizing this every year.

Albert Lobo, Doha

 Congratulations! MCC on your wonderful performance and winning the championship.

All fields are mandatory.
Enter valid answer - Security Validation
  Write Comment

  Please provide your full name, email :
  Your Full Name:*
  E-mail Address:*
   Enter your feedback in this box: *
You have characters left.
  Security Validation:* 6 + 4  =